Dissolution (The Shardlake series, 1)

FREE Shipping

Dissolution (The Shardlake series, 1)

Dissolution (The Shardlake series, 1)

RRP: £10.99
Price: £5.495
£5.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods


It is too much to expect that people can just flip a switch and do away with beliefs that have sustained them their whole lives.

England in 1537 is certainly a fascinating setting and Matthew Shardlake is a character I highly enjoyed. We meet the famous figure Thomas Cromwell very briefly, but in that page time he becomes an intimidating character with an aura that oozes from the page. It's 1537, the height of the English Reformation, and Thomas Cromwell, vicar general for the court of Henry VIII, is absolutely bent on the systematic ruthless dismantling of England's feudal monastery system, "re-patriating" the monastic lands and the church's accumulated wealth and destroying the evidence of papist Roman Catholicism inherent in such things as church buildings and relics.It is a time when people must deny their true nature whether they are homosexual, Anabaptist, or harboring affection for the Pope of Rome. Shardlake’s first outing was not perhaps as complicated in terms of the mystery threads in the story as the later ones, which is not to say by any means that it was an easy case—there were many threads to this as well, and the answers when they are revealed are not quite what one expected (incidentally, I did successfully guess one part of it, so the surprise element was definitely there).

It’s so easy to get lost, especially in historical fiction, that it’s refreshing to find an author who’s not afraid to admit a reader might not have committed every name and scene to memory.

His master, Cromwell, is a sinister figure, mercurial and rather frightening, prepared to do whatever is necessary to see the King's (and his own) will done. Shardlake is very dismissive of Catholicism, a true believer in the Reformation, but at the same time he is sickened by the lives that are being ruined needlessly.

Sunday Times Matthew Shardlake combines engrossing historical detail with a first-rate murder mystery. Choose one word, as quickly as possible, to describe each of the three main characters: Shardlake, Mark Poer, and Alice. Follow Shardlake into the dark heart of Tudor England with the bestselling Dark Fire, Sovereign, Revelation, Heartstone, Lamentation and Tombland. The monasteries were infamous for hoarding wealth, and Cromwell was determined to collect it to augment the royal coffers via the Court of Augmentations. Under overwhelming time and secrecy pressure imposed by Cromwell, Shardlake begins a long set of interviews and immerses himself in the life of the monastery.Shardlake is a commissioner sent, by Thomas Cromwell, to investigate his predecessor’s murder at a monastery. Set mainly within the walls of Scarnsea, but with some memorable scenes in London, the book seethes with sinners.

  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns


Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop